top of page

Scholarship Corner

100 Black Men of Coastal North Carolina mentees seated in a classroom during the UNC Pembroke college tour on October 17, 2026.

Saturday Success Academy mentees visit UNC Pembroke, October 17, 2026. Photo courtesy of 100 Black Men of Coastal North Carolina.

College plans need a funding plan. Find scholarship opportunities, check deadlines, and go directly to official applications.

For young women and young men across Brunswick, New Hanover, and Pender counties. We highlight opportunities relevant to Black students, HBCU pathways, and families facing financial barriers. Some awards are open to a wider group of applicants. Each sponsor sets its own rules.

Listings were validated as active on October 24, 2026. Verify all current details using the links provided below.

Award: $40,000 over four years ($10,000 annually).

Deadline: Application December 1, 2026. Transcripts and recommendations December 15. Cutoff time/time zone not stated on the public page.

Eligibility: Black/African American high school seniors who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents, show financial need, academic strength, leadership and service, and plan to attend an accredited four-year U.S. college. Any major; current college students are ineligible.

Materials: Three essays of about 500 words each, transcript, two recommendations (at least one from a school counselor, teacher or principal), and household financial information. SAT/ACT optional. Follow the portal’s financial-document instructions.

Last checked: October 24, 2026.

Official U.S. government portrait of Ron Brown.

Deadline approaching

Ron Brown Scholarship

Award: $40,000 over four years ($10,000 annually).

Deadline: January 8, 2027. Public cutoff time/time zone not stated.

Eligibility: U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents entering their first college year, with at least a 3.0 unweighted GPA and financial need. Must pursue an approved STEM major at an HBCU and have chemical-industry career interests. HBCU attendance and an approved major must continue. Open to anyone meeting the criteria; not all STEM fields qualify.

Materials: Most recent official transcript; financial-need statement (200 words maximum); career response and personal statement (250 words each maximum); activities/work details; parent/guardian consent. Optional video: 25 MB maximum. The form requires certification that AI was not used to complete responses. Review major and conflict-of-interest rules.

Last checked: October 24, 2026.

FOSSI, Future of STEM Scholars Initiative logo.

STEM at an HBCU

FOSSI: Future of STEM Scholars Initiative

Award: Five awards of $500 each.

Deadline: March 8, 2027. Listing does not state a cutoff time/time zone.

Eligibility: High school seniors or undergraduates from North Carolina or South Carolina attending or planning to attend an HBCU, with financial need. The listing emphasizes persistence, responsibility and commitment to education. No racial restriction or minimum GPA is stated.

Materials: A 400–600-word essay about a challenge, current responsibilities and how an HBCU education supports your goals; one recommendation letter.

Last checked: October 24, 2026.

Image from the Kerry L. Shipman Persistence Scholarship listing on Bold.org.

North Carolina and South Carolina

Kerry L. Shipman Persistence Scholarship

Award: Up to $35,000 over four years, plus mentoring and career support.

Deadline: January 14, 2027, at 5 p.m. EST. All required materials are due then.

Eligibility: Graduating high school seniors who are U.S. citizens, show financial need, academic excellence, leadership and service, and plan to attend a JRF-approved four-year college. No more than 25% of degree credits already earned. Prior-year graduates without college coursework may qualify. Current public criteria state no racial restriction.

Materials: Transcript, ACT or SAT score, recommendation, activities/household information, college plans, CSS Profile and essays. The website lists three essays; the 2026–27 flyer lists four. Follow the live portal’s checklist. Writing must be the student’s own; AI use is limited to spelling/grammar edits.

Last checked: October 24, 2026.

Jackie Robinson in his Brooklyn Dodgers uniform, 1954.

College access and leadership

Jackie Robinson Foundation Scholarship

Award: $10,000, renewable for up to three more years; $40,000 maximum.

Deadline: January 7, 2027, at 3 p.m. EST.

Eligibility: U.S.-citizen high school seniors graduating in winter 2026 or spring 2027, minimum 3.0 GPA, planning full-time study at an accredited U.S. four-year college in 2027–28. Leadership, service, integrity and drive matter. Not restricted to Black students. Review employee, trustee and family exclusions.

Materials: School, household/financial information; activities, service and work history; leadership/service essay; goals statement. Semifinalists later provide a transcript, recommendation, values statement and financial documents.

Last checked: October 24, 2026.

GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship Program logo.

Leadership and service

GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship Program

Winning Strategies for New Applicants

Identify a single strong match first. Review criteria closely, secure early teacher references, and maintain a timeline. Students must lead their own process to ensure authentic submissions.

These third-party awards are managed independently. 100 Black Men of Coastal North Carolina holds no authority over selection. Submit files through official channels; our office does not accept or forward applicant data.

Image credits: Ron Brown: official U.S. government portrait, public domain in the United States, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:RonBrownUS.JPG . Jackie Robinson: Bob Sandberg / LOOK Magazine Photograph Collection, Library of Congress; restoration by Adam Cuerden; public domain via https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Jackie_Robinson,_Brooklyn_Dodgers,_1954.jpg . FOSSI logo: official Future of STEM Scholars Initiative website. GE-Reagan logo: official 2027 Kaleidoscope application. Shipman image: official Bold.org scholarship listing. Images identify opportunities; they do not imply sponsor endorsement.

bottom of page